• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Pre-Comps casting shadows on each other but not on background!

New Here ,
May 24, 2020 May 24, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey everyone,

I'm kinda new to after effects, have done a few projects. But am fairly new to 3D and spot light stuff. I'm doing these end credits for a short film. They will eventually (hopefully) look like a corkboard with the main cast, director, producer, and writer each having their own post it note with their name and a picture as if it were taped to the corkboard. I did a test run and put all the sticky notes, tape pngs, and pictures into the main comp and made them 3D and put a spot light on just to see how it looked. The shadows were being cast nicely and everything but I thought it looked a bit messy. So, I decided to make a new project import everything in an orderly way. I ended up making pre-comps for all my sticky notes and pictures for each person (I have 10 pre-comps altogether). I made one more pre-comp for my background (I had to tile it for it to look better). Finally, when I had all my pieces in, I put a spotlight on (like I had tested before), I made the pre-comps 3D with all the proper settings (cast shadows: on, accepts shadows: on, accept light: on).

My problem is that the objects (sticky notes, pictures) would cast shadows on each other but wouldn't do it on the background. I don't know what I did wrong. But I tried different backgrounds and solids and nothings works. I've attached some screenshots below. (The poloroid png already had a slight black outline at the bottom, that is not a shadow being cast).

Thank you!! Sorry for the long postScreen Shot 2020-05-24 at 7.16.30 PM.pngScreen Shot 2020-05-24 at 7.17.04 PM.pngScreen Shot 2020-05-24 at 7.17.20 PM.pngScreen Shot 2020-05-24 at 7.17.28 PM.png

TOPICS
Error or problem , FAQ , How to

Views