• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Precomposing

New Here ,
Aug 24, 2020 Aug 24, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to AE and really confused about precomposing. I've watched many tutorials about lower thirds, title reveals, logo reveals and the like. In many of them the author will precompose a single layer but without explanation. Sometimes there are numerous layers precomposed. How do I know if I shouold precompose or not? Are there times when precompose is essential? Where can I find documentation on such? Thanks.

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Simple answer: In case of doubt, always pre-compose. Beyond that there's no magic to it. It just takes an understanding of AE's rendering pipeline, which is all explained in the online help and I'm pretty sure there are equally long-winded explanation videos out there. There's a million ways to think of it, but the most fitting analogy most of the time is "to let the paint dry", i.e. flattening the buffer. Painting on an already dry image will yield different results than using wet-on-wet techniques in a manner of speaking. Of course the whole truth is a lot more complicated, but let me be candid: You won#t learn this by watching a million tutorials. You actually have to work on projects to develop an understanding how effects, layer switches and so on interact. If you're focused on the immediate result following a tutorial step by step is just fine, but if you realyl want to wise up on it, you can only do so by practicing. Even for most of us old-timers it took a while to crack that nut....

Mylenium

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines