Highlighted

Problem with moving a pre-comp with Position

Community Beginner ,
Apr 18, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello everyone,

I am kinda new to Adobe After Effects and ran into a problem. I created a animation made out of 3 different frames. I combined them to create a loop with the lengt of my project (5seconds). I created a new Comp to insert the animation I made, like in a video tutorial I followed. Now I merged the different layers to make them all move to the right so it leaves the screen.

When I use [P] to change the position, normally there shows up a line so you can see where the object goes, but now it won't. Some how I can't make my fish move tot he right. 

Check my screen: https://i.gyazo.com/ff12b0aab1ecac4750247faeec3e8459.mp4

Can somebody please help me with what I doing wrong? I just don't see it 😞

- Maestro

Adobe Community Professional
Correct answer by Rick Gerard | Adobe Community Professional

Unfortunately that tutorial isn't very good. I would give it a D. It took almost 20 minutes to get to the part where the author started aligning the bird cycle and the workflow he used is terribly inefficient. If the original file was properly created and the center of each layer in the center of the bird then all you have to do is select all layers, press 'p' to reveal the position property of all layers, then drag a selection around all the position properties and right-click and reset.  You could also add a Null to the center of the comp, select all the bird layers, hold down the Shift key and then parent all of the bird layers to the null. Either one of those techniques would take about five seconds.