• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Proportional Scaling masks in After Effects is not working for me

New Here ,
Aug 25, 2020 Aug 25, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm an after effects newbie but i'm pretty sure if i hold down shift when i create a mask shape, that mask shape should scale at a 1:1 ratio. so if i choose the elipse and drag it out holding shift, it should be a circle.

But what i'm finding is that holding shift stretches the mask shape so the shape is twice as wide as it should be. Although it retains this stretched proportion. So i cant create perfect circle or square mask shapes. Just wide elipses and rectangles.

However if i just create a shape (not a mask shape) the shift key works as expected and i can drag out circles, etc. I'm using AE 17.1.3

Anyone else experiencing this, or has a fix? or am i being an idiot?

TOPICS
Error or problem

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

99.9997% chance the composition is set to non-square pixels. You can also have a solid layer or an image that is also set to non-square pixels. Everybody stopped using non-square pixels for output years ago, you shouldn't be using them today. Check the composition settings.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

To create a circle mask: 

1. Click the ellipse tool
  2. Hold Shift (and Control/Cmd if you want it to stay in the center)
  3. Click and drag out our shape, proportions will remain in a perfect circle.

And yea, if you're using non-square pixels that will cause an issue, double check your comp settings