Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Read text from external file and send to AME automation

Explorer ,
Aug 29, 2020 Aug 29, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everybody 

I'm new to javascript/extendscript. I like to ask about automation and i don't even know if its possible to do. 

Now i have text layer named "City" contains city name, and comp name starting like Everything about + textlayer.source. Beginning of comp name is fixed and when i change text source, it will be added to the comp name. Thanks to fellas in forum i figured out this with simple script like this :

var myComp = app.project.activeItem;
var nameLayer = myComp.layer("City");
var theText = nameLayer.property("Source Text").value.text;

myComp.name = "Everything about" + theText;

So this is my scripting level, maybe a little bit more. I m changing text to for example "Berlin", run script and comp name become "Everything about Berlin" then send it to AME Render Queue manually each time. 

Problem is that i have .txt file with more than 350 cities line by line. Question is obvious, is there a way to read text from .txt or .csv file, a line at a time, evaluate script, send it to AME and repeat process for each line in .txt file? 

Thank you.

TOPICS
Dynamic link , Import and export , Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Should be easily doable using the app.executeMenuCommand() and combing through your file in a loop. It will just be a bit more complicated than your simplistic three lines of code, obviously. The other question is whether anything actually will work without crashing. Creating 350 comps in a project will at the very least take some time and I'm not sure if AME would be able to handle that many render queueu entires as well.

Mylenium

Votes

Translate