Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Scrolling one comp to the next

Community Beginner ,
Mar 21, 2020 Mar 21, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey all,

I'm fairly new to After Effects but slowing finding my way around. I was hoping someone could help me out. I'm trying to create a scene were three smoke trails com into a scene, merge into one, continuing to move forward (with the camera following) before hitting a wall. I have managed the smoke trails, but I can't work out how to get the camera to follow them, I seem to run out of comp space (dimensions 1920 x 1080)

TOPICS
Expressions , Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

We really need to see a screenshot of your comp and have a more detailed description of your workflow to offer suggestions that are anything better than a guess.

If the shot is a moving camera shot of a scene where the camera moves through a room until it comes to a wall I can tell you how I might set up the shot.  I would start with Camera Tracking, establish an Origin and Ground Plane, add a camera and a solid to that spot so I could check the track, then attach 3D solid layers to the wall and try to get another solid on the same plane where the smoke should be. I would then add some lights to use as particle emitters for Trapcode Particular and set up my 3D smoke layers and make them collide with the wall.

If the shot is nothing like the one that I described and you do not have Trapcode Particular then the workflow would be entirely different and it may only involve animating the position of the smoke layer.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines