Trim Paths on shape layer converted from Illustrator

New Here ,
Sep 26, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, I am very new to AE! What I'm trying to do is trace the line of a drawing that was done in illustrator. I converted the layer into a shape but within the shape are 25 different groups that I put into one larger group (side note: I don't know what a group is versus a shape). I'd guess I need to fix something within the groups because the trim path tool won't even move along any portion of the line? In all honesty, I am not even sure if converting the layer into a shape added paths. I need to learn how to do this for an assignment, but I am starting at level zero with After Effects and am so lost!! Screen Shot 2020-09-26 at 7.50.25 AM.pngScreen Shot 2020-09-26 at 7.50.43 AM.png

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Adobe Community Professional ,
Sep 26, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

In order to see the Trim Paths in action you must add a Stroke thickness, I only see the path but I don't see Stroke, give it more thickness and have a test modifying the start and end parameters of the Trim Paths. If you don't want so many groups, try to have a single complete path from Illustrator, not several pieces of paths.

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
New Here ,
Sep 26, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied