• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Using MIDI Data to Trigger Animation in After Effects?

Explorer ,
Feb 09, 2020 Feb 09, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi y'all,

I'm a musician, trying to get my feet wet in motion graphics. Is it possible to import a MIDI fiile into After Effects and use the data to trigger the animation of characters?

Many thanks in advance.

Ess

TOPICS
Audio , How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

AE itself doesn't do anything realtime and thus doesn't support MIDI inputs. I vaguely seem to remember that someone had developed a plug-in and some scripts once, but I'm not sure of the state of affairs. Likewise there are a number of experiumental solutions for Adobe Character Aniumator, but I can't tell you how well they may work. In any case, the simple truth likely is that in order to get really good character animation in either program you will need to spend time learning them and work within their framework rather than trying to find quick automated solutions.

Mylenium

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied