• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Adobe AIR support for Flash Player in HTML Applications after 2020

New Here ,
Mar 01, 2019 Mar 01, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Bear with me, I am new to Flex, and I have inherited quite large product developed on the Flex 3 framework.

Our application is currently a Web application that runs in a browser using the Flash Player plugin. With this platforms end-of-life approaching, we have investigating Adobe AIR as a way to extend the life of our product beyond 2020. 

We have successfully packaged our code for AIR, with a few tweaks, it seems to work.  However, to our dismay, it seems to still have a dependency on the system installed Flash Player.  While our application is written largely in Flex 3, it is launched from an HTML landing page, and there is a non-trivial amount of JavaScript code called through the ExternalInterface.

After a little digging, I found that AIR applications that are initiated with an HTML page is significantly different than one initiated with an SWF.  An HTML application runs flex code in the system installed Flash Player, whereas a Flex application does not use the Flash Player.

So it appears to me that this AIR solution does not resolve our Flash Player EOL issue. So the questions are:

1. Does Adobe plan to support AIR applications in this configuration beyond the 2020 Flash Player EOL?
  2. Is there some option that I am unaware of to allow Javascript to be called from Flex in AIR without involving Flash Player.
  3. Or is my only option to rewrite my JS code in AS3?

Thanks in advance.

TOPICS
Development

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Enthusiast , Mar 01, 2019 Mar 01, 2019

The lazy way is to keep the HTML page loading a SWF in Adobe AIR