Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Beginner needs help coding his live day night animation

Community Beginner ,
Oct 19, 2021 Oct 19, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

hi
i made a cool floating cloud animation wich i want to add some code to change the background to day or night depending on the intern windonws clock... so for example

if it is 06-21 o clock i want the background image to be day image 1...
if the time is 21:01 -05:59 i want the background image to be night image 2....

i already googled for hours but all i could find was css or javascript and im a total beginner with coding so im not sure how to use it with action script...

i found alot of ways to get time and hours ( also on adobe documentation) 
but im not sure how to use all these codes...
this  here should basically do what i want... 
https://www.webdeveloper.com/d/194549-loading-different-images-based-on-time-of-day
i applied this code to the  global script section but when i test it inside the broswer,  it just shows me a blank screen with a broken image logo with text DJimage ..
i changed all file names and path accoringly to my stuff but still doesnt work...

i also tested to put the code on the background layer or the background object and then nothing happens at all .. .i get the normal animation inside my browser...
can anybody point me in the right direction ?

any help would be appriciated.
thanks alot 
dave

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Oct 20, 2021 Oct 20, 2021

what you're trying to use is too complicated for a novice.  use my previous suggestion and add both images to the stage.  convert each to a movieclip (right click each>click convert to symbol>movieclip). assign each an instance name (in the properties panel). eg, day_mc and night_mc.