• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Parenting Tool Undid Animation Placement

Explorer ,
Mar 29, 2022 Mar 29, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, so I am new to this and using Adobe Animate 22.0.5.

I had my character's eyes, pupils and eyebrows on individual layers. The whole thing played fine. But then the parenting tool disconnected or something and I had to redo the parenting. (Pupils to eyes, eyebrows to eyes, eyes to head, mouth to head) and now it seems no matter what I do, the layers don't actually connect properly to the head when it moves, they splinter off and do weird things (I've attached photos).

Do I need to redo these parts, use a new layer, parent earlier, not parent at all... or is there a solution I don't know about? Thank you!Screenshot (1138).pngScreenshot (1139).pngScreenshot (1140).png

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Guru ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Pete,

You have to learn to 'nest' your symbols. Nesting means that you place logical groups of elements inside other elements.

In this case all facial features should go inside the head symbol and then this internal timeline should be played in sync with your character timeline.

All lip sync is done inside the head, where elements maintain their relative positions among themselves and timing is kept flexible. No parenting is needed for the facial features at all.

This will simplify your rig structure.

When you animate, the general rule is to have a keyframe across all layers for all elements of the rig (or at least the ones you need to move), not just the parent.

For more information have a look here and here.

Nick - Character Designer and Animator, Flash user since 1998
Member of the Flanimate Power Tools team - extensions for character animation

Votes

Translate

Translate