Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Reset button for movieclip

Explorer ,
Jan 11, 2022 Jan 11, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi All. Hope you are well.

Ive had a good search through the forums but havent found quite what I need. Im very new to Animate.

Basically I have a button on my main timeline, when I click , a popup window appears and a movieclip plays . It plays to the end and stops. Then when I click the button again the popup dissapears. Heres where Im having a problem. If I now click the button again , the popup re-appears but its still at the last frame of the movieclip. How can I get it to re-appear and play from the start again ?

Thanks in advance for any help on this.

Kind regards

Rich.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Jan 11, 2022 Jan 11, 2022

assuming this is a canvas project:

in your click listener function is popupF, your popup movieclip is popup_mc  and your triggering button is popup_btn:

this.popup_mc.visible = false;

this.popup_btn.addEventListener("click",popupF.bind(this))

function popupF(){

if(this.popup_mc.visible){

this.popup_mc.visible=false;

this.popup_mc.gotoAndStop(0);

} else {

this.popup_mc.visible = true;

this.popup_mc.play();

}

Votes

Translate

Translate
Explorer , Jan 17, 2022 Jan 17, 2022

Just an update so I dont take up anymore of your time. I figured it out eventually :).

I used : 

var _this = this;
_this.close_btn.on('click', function(){

_this.gotoAndStop(1);
});

Inside the movieclip .

It worked perfectly. Thanks again for your help . Im slowly starting to understand it more.

Kind regards

Have a nice day.

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied