• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Adobe Animate is a difficult search term

Community Beginner ,
Jan 31, 2020 Jan 31, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I apologize if this might be misunderstood by Adobe but this is something that I think should be considered by their Marketing team. I was an intermediate user back in the Adobe Flash days, but life moved on and I never touched it again until now.  About 6-7yrs later, I found an use that requires Adobe Animate again.

Through this re-learning process, I found it is much more difficult to find information in the internet about Adobe Animate simply because "Animate" is such a common word used in so many other contexts. I reckon the team that came up with the software name did not foresee this consequence, but as a web developer I am indeed quite disappointed that other software and coding languages (i.e., Python, Javascript, Photoshop, Lightroom, etc.) have very unique names that make the information search much simpler.

This is more of a feedback to Adobe that I wanted to give while I'm going through this learning curve. I understand that probably their marketing team wanted to remove the stain from Flash, given the bugs/hacking that occurred in the past. But "Animate" is really a poor choice for a software name because it makes the information search such a terrible experience.

Let me know if you guys agree with this opinion!

TOPICS
Missing feature , Other

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Guru ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi mate,

Excellent post!

It's a terribly bland name that only a corporate committee of clueless marketing graduates can come up with.

It is utterly unpleasant to try and say "Here is my Animate animation" or "I'm an Animate animator".