• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Advice: Is my Adobe Flash knowledge useless in 2020?

New Here ,
Aug 17, 2020 Aug 17, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Looking for some advice please.

At the turn of the century I was in high school and studied multimedia design. I learned html and css. I designed in tables, so that says a lot about the times then. Anyway, I started learning how to use Macromedia Flash and then Flash MX.

I invested a lot of time into learning how to animate stuff, use action script to build presentation, games, landing pages, and other interactive stuff. I then got a job building websites and then the iphone came along and that was the end of me creating anything in Flash. There was no use for flash because apple said so... (obviously there is more to this)

But up until then, I was very excited of the idea to create mobile apps using flash.

Since that time life moved on and I grew in my career by creating websites, but I use html, css, javascript, php and various code libraries.

Now in 2020 and rediscovering Adobe Animate, I wanted to ask the community here and get some advice.

I haven't used Animate, but looking at videos online. I am very confident in my ability to create in it.

So I would like to use animate to create interactive content like apps and even make some cartoons.

The main question is, is this even an option? Can you make apps for android and ios without a ton of compilers?

I really loved creating in Flash and my career took me somewhere else. I will be doing some research on my own, but I wanted to gather some opinions from people who are actually creating apps and interactive content.