• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Am I having a stroke? Access of undefined property error in SIMPLE movie.

Explorer ,
Feb 09, 2019 Feb 09, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have been working with Flash for 20 years but have only made presentation style movies in AS3.  I SWEAR on my love of dessert that I have created dozens and dozens of presentations using this exact method only now it doesn't work.

As a test of sanity I created a simple movie with 4 layers and a keyframe on frame 1 (layer 1), 5 (layer 2) and 10 (layer 3).  At each frame on an ACTIONS layer I have a stop(); action.

On frame 1 I draw a simple rectangle and convert to a symbol and name it button1.  I also give it an instance name of button1.  I click CODE SNIPPETS after selecting the button and tell it to got to frame 5 and stop.

stop();

button1.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, fl_ClickToGoToAndStopAtFrame);

function fl_ClickToGoToAndStopAtFrame(event:MouseEvent):void
{
gotoAndStop(5);
}

I publish that and it works fine.

On layer 2, keyframe 5 I draw another rectangle, name it button2 and give it an instance name of button2.  I select it, apply CODE SNIPPET telling it to go to frame 10 and stop.

stop();

button2.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, fl_ClickToGoToAndStopAtFrame_2);

function fl_ClickToGoToAndStopAtFrame_2(event:MouseEvent):void
{
gotoAndStop(10);
}

I publish that and I get the access of undefined property error.  What is happening?  Have I completely forgotten how to create a simple AS3 movie?  Do I smell almonds?  What the hell am I missing? There is no logical reason for this error to happen, right?

EDIT: TURN OFF ADVANCED LAYERS.  I searched in the forum and found the answer.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines