• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

At a loss — How do I get my animation to loop a set number of times before stopping?

Explorer ,
Oct 16, 2019 Oct 16, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm a beginner. Sorry! But I've created an animation that works. It's simple and very straight forward.

But it doesn't do what I want which is to start when I click "Start" then loop three times and stop at the end of the animation at frame 58.

Here's what I have:

in Layer 1, frame 1 of the animation I have this:

var _this = this;
_this.stop();

In Layer 1, frame 2 and to the end (frame 58 is end) I have this:

if (!this.looped) this.looped = 1;

if (this.looped++ > 3) this.gotoAndStop('58');

In Layer 2, frame 1 and to the end I have this (and a "Start" button):

var _this = this;
_this.button_2.on('click', function(){
_this.gotoAndPlay('2');
});

Animation starts when I click "Start" but it only plays once, then goes back to beginning and stops. It seems my "Stop" in Layer 1, frame 1 overrides the loop command? But what do I do to prevent the animation to auto play on load if I don't have a Stop action in there?

TOPICS
ActionScript , Code , How to , Timeline

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Oct 17, 2019 Oct 17, 2019

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,
Oct 17, 2019 Oct 17, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It sounds like you're creating a banner ad. But your code is AS3, which won't work in an HTML5 Canvas document, which is what you have to use for ads now.

Which is it?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines