Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Converting AS2 to AS3? Can it be done?

Explorer ,
Jun 24, 2013 Jun 24, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

First I'm not a Flash developer, I'm asking this question to help another group trouble shoot a problem. While I know this sounds dumb, I need an official answer to they can close this solution as some type of an option to solve this problem.

I was given several swfs from an elearning course in hopes that they could someone be put into Captivate and wrapped for an LMS.  Apparently the Flash developer isn't able to code these files for the LMS (weird yes, but not my task in this problem)  In looking at the swfs I was given they all say they were created using AS2 and of course, Captivate only supports AS3. 

Short of redoing the Flash files in AS3 is there any other way to take something written Flash using AS2 and output it to a swf that is AS3?

Thanks for indulging me with your time.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Participant , Jun 24, 2013 Jun 24, 2013

You cannot "Convert" an as2.swf to an as3.swf.

You would need to have the original .fla file that created the as2.swf and manually export it to as3.

The actionScript may need converting depending on several things. Hard to give an exact answer.

An example of something needing conversion would be as something simple as a something referenced in a function may be doing something like...

_parent.movieClipName._visible = true ;

needs to be changed to

parent.movieClipName.visible = true;

because the unde

Votes

Translate

Translate
Participant ,
Jun 24, 2013 Jun 24, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You cannot "Convert" an as2.swf to an as3.swf.

You would need to have the original .fla file that created the as2.swf and manually export it to as3.