• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Game Design - Argument Error !! Related with removeChild()

New Here ,
May 25, 2010 May 25, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

ArgumentError: Error #2025: The supplied DisplayObject must be a child of the caller.
    at flash.display::DisplayObjectContainer/removeChild()
    at latest_fla::MainTimeline/action()

I get this error when i try to remove the instance of the ball after detecting collision over a wall.. i want the ball to disappear after it collides with the specific walls. i am new to AS and not ablt to sort out the problem. i am trying to make a game using AS3.0

Regards,

HoneyBadger

TOPICS
ActionScript

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Jun 04, 2010 Jun 04, 2010

Now have one more problem. when navigating scenes,the keyboard and mouse control is present only in the scene 1. It is not functioning in the remaining scenes. How to sort out this issue  ??

Most probably this is because there are no mouse and keyboard listeners in other scenes.

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Go into your publish settings abd select the option to permit debugging.  Your error message might then include a reference to the line of code that is causing the error.  IT might help to place a trace before this line of code so that you can see if it is being called again after the removal has already taken place.  Trace the object that is supposed to be removed to see if it exists.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines