Highlighted

Greensock timeline tweens

Contributor ,
Feb 20, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi All,

A general question here. (I'm a beginner in AnimateCC):

I have looked over and used a few timeline tweens from Greensock animation platform in my Canvas project:

https://greensock.com/

The claim in the opener video above, is that using Greensock timeline animations allows a faster and easier workflow and avoids the bugs common with other approaches.

They look nice but animating with these products means one is doing, what I'll call, "script-based" animation: Code in the script drives the animation while the play head stays on one frame.

Most of the animation done with Animate CC, I think, is timeline-based animation where keyframes are used and the animation takes place over multiple frames, right?

Which type of animation allows more control and more options... for example, allows you to synchronize more precisely with an audio track?

Does the claim regarding faster/easier workflow sound accurate?

Thanks

It depends.

I used creatjs frame scripts on keyframes prior to the GUI easing being added in 2017.

I chose to put each createjs tween on keyframes on the timeline, because it made i easier to keep track of what object they pertained to.

I did it sparingly, because I did have to do a lot more previewing and tweaking the scripts, because there was no scrubbing the timeline.

I don't use GSAP because I have too may sizes/versions. Animate is faster for me.

If you want to try a createjs code tween, there is one in code snippets. It is pretty fun, because it is so crazy.

/* Tweens the specified Object using ease bounce out effect.

*/

var target = this.movieClip_1;

var tween = createjs.Tween.get(target, {

loop: true

})

.to({

x: target.x,

y: canvas.height - 55,

rotation: -360

}, 1500, createjs.Ease.bounceOut)

.wait(1000)

.to({

x: canvas.width - 55,

rotation: 360

}, 2500, createjs.Ease.bounceOut)

.wait(1000)

.to({

scaleX: 2,