Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Help with gotoAndPlay()

New Here ,
Aug 11, 2020 Aug 11, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Good Morning,
I am pretty new to Adobe Animate and I seem to have run into an issue that I don't understand.

I have an environment animated panning left and right and I want the user to be able to click on an arrow to then play the animation to pan in the direction they wanted. The attached image is how my Timeline is set up.

Frame 1 is blank and just a white screen, and the code on the Scripts Layer is;
this.gotoAndStop("Part01");

This works the way I expect it, it immediately moves to the start of my Part 01 section and stops.
Now on Frame 2 (the start of my Part 01 section) of the Scripts Layer I have this code;

this.LeftArrow.alpha = .5;
this.RightArrow.on("click", function(){
console.log ("Move Right");
this.gotoAndPlay("Part01");
})

It starts off making my LeftArrow Button grayed out to indicate that you can't move anymore in that direction, then if the RightArrow Button is clicked it should Play my Part01 animation to move to the right, but it doesn’t.

It displays Move Right in my Console, so I know the function is being called, and it gives no errors at all, it just does nothing and I don't know why. I don't know if my logic is faulty, or if I am using the wrong function, or if it is just Chrome being a jerk...

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thank you.

--Jeff

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Aug 11, 2020 Aug 11, 2020

"this" in event handlers points to the root window object, not the lexical context of the function definition.