• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How do I create one (Home / About / Contact / Help etc) button for 16 button instances

Explorer ,
Oct 16, 2020 Oct 16, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to Adobe Animate and need to create a presentation in AS6. My problem:
There are 16 images. On frames from 1 to 160    --   Keyframes which change the image are 10, 20, 30  etc till 160

At each keyframe a new image is displayed with navigation buttons on top (like Home, Next, Previous, About etc)
The button  instances are called - e.g. for the "Home" Button:  home1_btn, home2_btn,  ... home16_btn,
For the "Next" button: home1_btn, home2_btn,  ... home16_btn and so on.

The big question - do I have to write the same mouse click events - 16 times - that is create an AS3 for each button instance?
The logic would demand that one would write one  code for the base button out of which 16 button instances are created.
And that when one uses an instance of this base button then automatically - if the user ticks "yes" - the code associated to this base button would be executed:
Just as the 4 different states (Up/Over/Click/Hit) of a base button are taken over by all the button instances - why is there not a tick box that allows to create a generic base code for all the button instances ?

E.g. if we take the sample home1_btn to home16_btn      the effect of the mouse click on tis button is always     gotoAndStop("home");
But AS 3 does not seem to allow to write a code for the base button - only a code for the indivdual button instances.. 

Yet, I am sure there must a way to write only one code for all the 16 button instances (they only differ by the appended no.!)
There are  many situations discussed on the net - but none refers to this "same AS3 instructions for multple button instances".