• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

If Else statements with Animate CC - How do they work?

Community Beginner ,
Sep 23, 2019 Sep 23, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello all.

I am having a hard time figuring out how to use if Else -statements within Animate CC. I have some JavaScript experience, but I don't know how to apply JavaScript within Animate since there is isn't IDs, classes etc. I am hoping, that if someone could point me to the right direction with my example case, I would get a grasp of if Else within Animate and could use it in the coming projects.

Example case

I have created a HTML5 canvas. On the canvas, I have symbol(rectangle) with motion tween, spinning 50 times, looping indefinitely. I also have a button symbol, with instance name Play_btn.

So, when the canvas is opened on the browser, the rectangle spins indefinitely. And when you click the button, the spinning stops. Good so far. But, when I click the button again, nothing obviously happens. What I would like to happen is, that 2nd click on the same button that stops the rectangle spinning, would continue the spinning on this 2nd click.

Here is the code I have inserted on the action-layer on the 1st frame:

this.play();
this.Play_btn.addEventListener("click",playAnimation.bind(this));
function playAnimation() {
this.stop();
}

The question is, what I need to add to the code in order to make 2nd click to the button replay the animation?

Many thanks in advance. 

TOPICS
Code , How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Engaged ,
Sep 23, 2019 Sep 23, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I think, you need to save the state in a variable.