• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Motion graphics templates with Actionscript 3 - general ideas.

Community Beginner ,
Mar 15, 2019 Mar 15, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey there,

I understand this is not an Adobe product forum, still my question is about Adobe products. Just not one in particular. Please refere (or move) me to another forum if there is one more appropriate.

So, I used to do a lot of actionscript 3. Websites, FB-Apps etc. I do not miss Flash in the web browser. But I do miss coding in as3.

But even before Steve Jobs "killed" Flash, I transitioned to motion graphics and using After Effects and Maya / Cinema 4D.

After some years of working as a freelancer I ended up working for a broadcast station. Here we use a lot of templates for infographics (lower thirds, packshots, endslates, etc).

Before I came here, the usual workflow would be that the editor/cutter would open After Effects where they would find a "EDIT-Comp" with text fields to fill in text and things like color or alignment. Then there could things like a "FOOTAGE-Comp" and/or a "LOGO-Comp" where they could paste video and graphics. In the end they would render the "RENDER-Comp" and get their final dirty clip as prores or mxf.

Now we started to work with MOGRTs, which is nice since the cutter doesn't have to leave premiere for their work and no one can accidentally delete or move something in the template.

BUT, the MOGRTs are very limited and not flexible at all (no blendmodes or effects pass through to the premiere footage, textfields are clunky, no custom images can be loaded).

So my actual question would be, after not having dealt with Flash or Actionscript3 in several years: