Highlighted

Performing data visualization with Flex SDK 4.6 and Flash Pro CS6 using timeline based navigation and static arrays.

Community Beginner ,
Dec 24, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am trying to perform data visualization using arrays. I have two movie clips - one that performs certain calculations and another movie clip that is supposed to represent the result of the calculations as a line chart, with the inputs on X Axis and results on Y Axis. I am writing code using timeline based navigation. I am new to AS3 with very little experience in it and am learning on the go from the net. However, all the example code I have come across so far on the net seems to be using external Actionscript files and MXML, both of which I have no idea how to do. Due to time restrictions, I have decided to go with timeline based coding as that is what I am most familiar with. Any help by way of code clips to correct my code will be helpful. I do not need the entire code, just corrections and recommendations on the corrections needed. I would rather use the Flex SDK as from examples I have seen, it gives more options with the way data can be visualized and code would be smaller as well. I looked for Open Source options as well but could not find a solution that will fit my needs (I do not need to access data dynamically from an external file; all the data is static in the form of arrays within the Flash application). Also, if it turns out that data visualization is not possible using Flex SDK 4.6 and Flash Pro CS6, should I downgrade to Flex 3.6? The code is shown here under.

import mx.collections.*;

import spark.layouts.HorizontalLayout;

import mx.charts.*;

import mx.charts.series.*;

var xAxisArray:Array = MovieClip(parent).inputArray;

var yAxisArray:Array = MovieClip(parent).resultArray;

function LineChart()

{

var series:ArrayCollection = new ArrayCollection([xAxisArray, yAxisArray]);

var s1 = new (LineSeries);

s1 = xAxisArray;

trace (s1);