• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Unable to play Movie Clips - HTML5 Canvas

New Here ,
Dec 15, 2020 Dec 15, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everyone, I am new to Animate so please pardon my beginner questions - I am a web developer so I mostly work with Javascript, but I was asked to convert an old flash animation to HTML5 Canvas. I’m having some difficulty getting the animation to work - unfortunately, I can’t share the project file because it’s proprietary / client work.

From what I understand, the original flash animation was created with AS2, which was auto converted in Animate to AS3. If I publish a .swf file, the animation seems to work fine. Since the initial conversion to HTML5 Canvas in Adobe Animate, I can verify that the animation plays in the timeline (except for the movieclips, which I understand do not animate in the timeline itself - please correct me if I am wrong).

I went into the actions panel and saw all of the AS3 code commented out. The structure I see in the actions panel includes dropdown for global (nothing in there), Scene 1 (there’s only one scene in this project) which has script_layers for four different frames, and then Symbol Definitions, where various symbols have between 2-5 script_layers for different frames.

Screen Shot 2020-12-15 at 2.11.02 PM.png

I put console logs on the script_layers for each symbol. I noticed that I'm only getting console logs on the first frame of each one, and I'd guess that's probably related to why I’m not seeing any of the animations playing. I’ve tried various things based on what I’ve seen on this forum and stackoverflow, but to no avail. But I feel that this should be fairly simple, since the code for all of these script_layers is very short - almost 4 lines each, and does not look complex.