• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Audio recorded in multitrack quieter/lower quality than waveform

Community Beginner ,
May 06, 2022 May 06, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, thank you in advance for reading this.

I am new to using Adobe Audition for recording voiceover. I recorded two sessions using the waveform editor and they sound great. My third session I recorded in the multitrack editor as I wanted to test the function of listening to playback while recording (although I didn't end up using it), and as far as I can remember the audio sounded equally great as my other recordings when I played it back.

Now as I'm sitting down to edit the files, the recording sounds quiet, hollow, and tinny -- of a different quality than the other audios that I recorded. The only thing that I did differently was record in multitrack as opposed to waveform so I imagine that is the source of the problem. Everything else was the same (studio recording setup, microphone, mic technique, etc.).

(It's not just a playback issue either, as I've exported the audio in wav and mp3, and when played in other software the sound is equally poor. I have raw files from my other waveform sessions that sound great in those same softwares, eg Windows Media Player.)

I've tried enhancing the audio with editing and different effects but I can't get it to replicate the same rich, warm, and loud quality as the other recordings. Does anyone have any insight into this issue and/or suggestions for how I might salvage this audio?