• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Audtion very sluggish on my new gaming laptop with good specs (Dell G5 SE)

New Here ,
May 05, 2021 May 05, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all, I'm a Podcast editor with a few clients. I picked up a Dell G5 5505 SE from Best Buy a couple weeks ago, specs are awesome, gaming is great on it, however as soon as I load up any of my old Audition files I've edited in, the program slows to a crawl. Just dragging a clip from one place to another with take a few seconds of lag. It's essentially unusable for my job. I know the issue isn't my specs being too low, since I'm upgrading from an 2012 HP Business laptop that had a 3rd-gen quad-core i7, and my old HP is able to load up the same audition files and edit no problem.

MY CURRENT SPECS:

AMD Ryzen 7 4800H

AMD Radeon RX 5600M

16gb Memory (Upgraded from 8)

144hz 1080p IPS Display

512gb SSD

One thing to note is that when an Audition project is completely empty and I just stick one Wav file in there, it works just fine. As soon as have multiple tracks and started chopping them all up, after just some light editing the program eventually becomes unusable.

Also notable as that this laptop uses AMD's "SmartShift" technology (which I'm unable to switch off) where it dynamically adjusts power between the built-in integrated graphics and discrete RX5600m. Not sure if that could be causing any of these issues.

LASTLY: I have bounced between the newest version of Audition available, and tried using the newest Beta version as well. No difference, still extremely sluggish.

Any ideas? Anyone else specicifically with this same laptop and having similar issues? Do Adobe apps not play well with mobile Ryzen platforms? Should I return this thing while I'm still in the window and get an 11th-gen Intel laptop instead?

Thanks!

TOPICS