• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Getting rid of harsh ess sounds in speech

Aug 01, 2017 Aug 01, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

So, I'm pretty new to all of this and was hoping some kind people who have knowledge and experience could lend me a hand.

I've been asked to read out some books and record in order to make them into audio-books. The problem is that naturally when I speak the 's' sound comes out quite harsh. Now, I've done all the recording already (and it took a while to do) and also I've been speaking this was for many, many years (so it'll be very difficult for me to not have this harsh 's' while still sounding natural) so it's not really practical for me to go back and re-record it all. Is there a way of fixing this through audition? I've tried using the 'de-esser' function for the whole track but it doesn't seem to do a lot. I've also tried highlighting the target frequency for each sound and reducing the volume of it and, while this works well, it'll take a lot of time to do it for all of the audio I need to get through.

Any ideas? Any help or suggestions would be very much appreciated.

Thanks,

Suddhiko.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Aug 06, 2017 Aug 06, 2017

Yes, your Dropbox link works fine, and I've listened (and looked) at it, and you can improve this quite dramatically with one very simple step, and that's simply to EQ the offending part of the audio spectrum. This works well on this file because you've used a sensible recording level, and nothing actually overloads as such; that's where the de-esser is a little more useful, and why it doesn't work so well on your file. So what did I do? I used the Parametric EQ, and arranged the settings like t

Votes

Translate

Translate