• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Need advice on saving/mastering files for eventual Audiobook streaming via Audible

Contributor ,
Oct 12, 2021 Oct 12, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've been producing audiobooks for Audible for 3+ years now.

Mostly, I don't get a chance to listen back to what customers are hearing through the audible app, but just recently I had to check a production to make sure a change had gone live.

I was quite shocked by the audio quality - or rather lack of!

I already knew that audio is down-sampled by Audible for streaming and was given to understand this was 64kbps @22050 Hz . I always check my finished audio at this rate to make sure it sounds OK.

Here's an example: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1pjFmCfS4234eijvzMFsWveaPQmKSt18w/view?usp=sharing

Here's the same passage, stream recorded from Audible's web-based app: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1k5ZmZ_4_DMS_MOtDlwHoztg3WEGjPLNP/view?usp=sharing

My main concern are the high-frequency artifacts in the audible stream... I'm not quite sure how to describe them but it's like a gated hiss that corresponds to the speech.

I'm fairly sure this is a result of audio compression codecs used for the audible stream. From what little I know, I think Audible uses their own .aa format for streaming.

Here's where it gets interesting...

It seems not all streams are "equal" as far as Audible are concerned.

Here's a sample of another narrator/producer who I would loosely class as a contemporary of mine, again recorded from the Audible stream: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1JFPyIPGfZa48NUPwQLk5YrwbHZxWC2PF/view?usp=sharing

- similar quality/artifacts