Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Nudging/overlapping multiple clips?

Community Beginner ,
Aug 26, 2020 Aug 26, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey all,

I am a podcast editor who often has to delete multiple (and sometimes hundreds) of occurences of "ums." 

Is there a quick way to do any of the following?

1. Nudge all selected clips together, so it erases the time/space in between them where I have removed bits of audio?
  2. A hotkey for nudging a selected clip to bump up against the previous clip? I can only nudge things by very small amounts and sometimes I need to traverse large gaps.
  3. Nudge and slightly overlap all selected clips (similar to above but the addition of overlapping them slightly to automate a transition?
  4. A function similar to number 2 that combines clips with an overlapping transition that automatically detects where audio begins and ends (so the automatic overlap is more accurate for smooth transitions between clips?

I realize this will still require a degree of manual editing but it would save me a whole lot of time and energy!

TOPICS
How to , User interface or workspaces

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It's actually a pain to do this in Multitrack - much easier in Waveform view where you simply select the um and hit the delete key. This joins the gaps up using the overlap set in Preferences, and also you can preview the result by using the 'Skip Selection' button on the far RHS of the transport controls. You just highlight it, and when you press Play it will go back a short period, play the track and simply skip the highlighted bit.

Normally we'd recommend editing in Multitrack, but this is one occasion when we wouldn't, as its so much easier to do in Waveform.

Votes

Translate

Translate