Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Source timecode (better workflow?)

Advisor ,
Nov 08, 2017 Nov 08, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

TL;DR version:

Can i view source timecode of wav file in Audition?

— — —

I’m a picture editor. But on short form / quick turnaround we end up finishing sound.

With AdobeCC we get a reasonable arsenal within PremPro but some things have to go to Audition for clean up.

Typically this is dialogue. Usually 2+ personal mics (interviewer/interviewees) that are balanced with room tone in gaps, routed to a dialogue bus with light compression, bit of eq to roll off highs & lows, brick wall limiter to protect true peak.

Once the edit is complete there is usually limited time to clean up that dialogue further. Today, for example, that was the two jobs of trying to reduce the intermittent noise as one of the camera sliders did its thing in an interior interview and ’heal’ a siren behind an exterior interview.

Currently I bypass the sub mix effects and export a mono wav of just the dialogue, open that wav in Audition and use noise print removal for the former and the heal brush for the latter.

This works pretty well but I don’t see any way of displaying, or navigating with, the wav source timecode (which matches my sequence timecode and thus my notes). It’s not an insurmountable problem, but if there is a solution I’d be grateful to hear it.

In addition - is there a way of ’storing’ noise prints for removal? (This week I’d have liked to sample a few of my room tones and stored them - then selectively applied them to different sections)

And is there a better way to work?

I realise I could process the whole interviews pre-edit, and have tried that approach, but I find it quicker/better to do it to finished project.