• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can I swap between searching by folder name and by date of shoot?

Explorer ,
Sep 25, 2020 Sep 25, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am a photographer and I have thousands of folders named as follows: Kim Kardashian 9.11.20 (Name of model)(Date of shoot).

I have a frequent need to sort among a large number of folders so that I can see what recent work is outstanding.

For the last several years I've been using a separate third party database systems to create sorting fields by date.   It's ridiculously laborious and expensive.  Isn't there some way to better manage my workflow with Bridge?  This seems a simple enough and obviously needed kind of function.  

In an ideal world I'd be able to see folders arrayed by name of model OR by date of shoot.  It'd be very useful to be able to store things like models' proper name vs nickname, social media account info, email, phone number.  I'd love to be able to flag folders so that I can see which shoots I've completed all the work for and which have outstanding work.  These all seem incredibly basic needs for photographers.  COuld anyone point me in a useful direction?

TOPICS
How to , Keywords , Metadata

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Sep 25, 2020 Sep 25, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Thomas,

Lightroom-Classic

Bridge is my top choice to quickly go through a bunch of images. I always take raw (I do convert them to DNGs) and thereby am always using ACR. However, LR-C is ACR with a database. 

Because of the database within LR-C, you have the full power of ACR AND the full power of a database. Thus, for my primary images, LR-Classic is my top choice.