• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Photoshop Camera Raw 14.0 throws away masks

Explorer ,
Nov 05, 2021 Nov 05, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

After hours of working in Camara Raw 14.0 for Photoshop 2022, retouching a photo (and frequent saves in between to xmp), I opened the final result as an object in Photoshop. To my surprise ALL the work I did in masks was gone once the image was opened in Photoshop. Spot removal and all adjustments I did on the Edit-tab had been saved, but I lost 5 hours of mask retouching work. Re-opening the object in Camera Raw did not bring back the masks, nor did reloading the xmp. I tried re-opening the original CR3 in Camara Raw, with the same result. The masks were simply not saved to the xmp-file. 

I've just updated to Photoshop 2022, so I'm new to the masks feature, but I've been working for years with Photoshop Camera Raw and the adjustment brush and such. I've never had this problem, nor did I do anything out of the ordinary before opening the photo as an object. 

Is this a know bug? Has anyone else experienced this?

I work on a Macbook Pro 2019 with Monterey 12.0.1 freshly installed, the Camera Raw version is 14.0.0.950.

TOPICS
macOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,
Nov 05, 2021 Nov 05, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Update: I've taken a look at the xmp-file, and I think I see mask info, but I'm not familiar enhough with the code to be sure. I also think the indentation looks off, so maybe it could be a syntax error? See below for a sample. (Alas, the indetation didn't survive the cut and paste.) I'm really hoping this means my work is recoverable. Could anyone help me look into this, please?

<crs:RetouchAreas>
<rdf:Seq>
<rdf:li>
<rdf:Description
crs:SpotType="heal"
crs:SourceState="sourceAutoComputed"