• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

P: Choose which lines are used for straightening perspective.

Participant ,
Mar 06, 2023 Mar 06, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everyone,

as an interior photographer, I really appreciated it when the automatic tool for correcting perspective lines was introduced a few years ago. In a way, I realized that over time, I could save a lot of time in retouching my interior work and focus on other things. However, even though it's been maybe two or three years now, I don't think the tool is quite mature yet. Let me explain.

When I go to retouch the photos taken inside renovated buildings, I almost always have to deal with many lines. Some of these lines are load-bearing and fundamental, while others are less important. It just so happens that Camera Raw almost always fails to identify these important lines.

And that's why I think this tool should be further refined, allowing us to choose which lines the automation should work on and which ones it shouldn't.

Does anyone else feel the same way when working with Camera Raw? I think it's pretty much the same with Lightroom, given that the tool is identical.

Thank you 🙂 

Idea No status
TOPICS
macOS , Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
3 Comments
Advocate ,
Mar 07, 2023 Mar 07, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

In the Geometry Panel there are 5 different modes for perspective correction (Shift + T will take you there directly.) The first option (Auto) is perhaps what you are referring to. The fifth opton (Guided) allows you to draw your own guides for perspective correction. Is this what you want?

Here is some further detail: