How can I save DNG without discarded details?

When I drag  DNG file into PS,   before the file is opened in the native PS window,  i get the popup window of Camera Raw, where I can crop/modify picture, and RE-SAVE it as DNG :

kEDEj8q.png

However, when I re-open the saved file again, and click crop, then it reinstates in the INITIAL, THE ORIGINAL PICTURE...

How can I avoid that? When I modify/crop the DNG and save it again as DNG, I want that last DNG was the final file (so,  I want that cropped area was lost forever)

View all replies

Views

111

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn More

How can I save DNG without discarded details?

When I drag  DNG file into PS,   before the file is opened in the native PS window,  i get the popup window of Camera Raw, where I can crop/modify picture, and RE-SAVE it as DNG :

kEDEj8q.png

However, when I re-open the saved file again, and click crop, then it reinstates in the INITIAL, THE ORIGINAL PICTURE...

How can I avoid that? When I modify/crop the DNG and save it again as DNG, I want that last DNG was the final file (so,  I want that cropped area was lost forever)

View all replies

Views

112

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn More
Correct Answer by Chuck Uebele
Adobe Community Professional
| Adobe Community Professional

Every time you open a DNG and modify the settings, the old settings are lost, unless you save a preset of them, that you can then reapply. You can save the file with a different name and save different versions. In Lightroom, you can save virtual copies of the same image, so you can have many version, without taking up a lot of disk space.

1 Reply

Re: How can I save DNG without discarded details?

Every time you open a DNG and modify the settings, the old settings are lost, unless you save a preset of them, that you can then reapply. You can save the file with a different name and save different versions. In Lightroom, you can save virtual copies of the same image, so you can have many version, without taking up a lot of disk space.

View all replies

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn More
Reply
Loading...