• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Adobe Captivate 2019 Swf compilation failed. Note: Please verify if any of the actionscript keywords

New Here ,
Aug 31, 2022 Aug 31, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I have a fresh install of Adobe Captivate 2019 on Windows 11. This is my first project. I'm trying to compare Adobe Captivate with what I have been using Storyline 360.

I am trying to preview a project by selecting Preview> Next 5 slides. I get this error message: "Swf compilation failed. Note: Please verify if any of the actionscript keywords is used as user variable name." I initially had my cache, publish, and video folders set to the defaults which included OneDrive which I know can cause problems. I've changed the location of each of these three folders to C:\Adobe Captivate Cache, C:\Adobe Captivate Publish, and C:\Adobe Captivate Working. I've exited and restarted. I still get the error on a brand new blank project with one or five slides. I've tried both. Please help I've spent hours just trying to troubleshoot the preview function!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Aug 31, 2022 Aug 31, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Bad start for a comparison. I will try to explain. Since you are on a non-responsive project (Blank project), the Preview method you were using is still based on SWF technology. I logged that problem since several versions, with no response. HTML output needs to be viewed in a web browser. The only valid Preview is F11, Preview HTML in Browser. You probably will not get an error when using that one. The browser will be the one you set up as your default browser.