• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Countdown Timer Widget and Hiding it on second slide visit , but need to lock it down

New Here ,
Feb 12, 2020 Feb 12, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello everyone, first post here and I am a newbie Captivate developer working on my first project.  I have an issue that I need some help with. 

Utilizing the timer widget to countdown and force the amount of time the user needs to spend on each slide:

1.  My client wanted to control the minimum amount of time that the user spends on each slide so I have a timer widget on each slide that has it’s duration set (ranging from 5 seconds to 60 seconds).  User cannot go forward until they spend that duration on each slide.

1. RIGHT/FORWARD Arrow to continue to next slide appears as the countdown timer widget disappears (this happens at .2 seconds before the end of the slide duration).  There is a pause set at .2 on the Right arrow. 

1. Left/BACK Arrow is always “active”
    1. Issue 1 – (SOLVED) if user goes back 1 slide, the user needs to sit through the timer count down again.  I add a variable and an advanced action to mark the slide as visited which will hide the timer widget and show the RIGHT/FORWARD arrow.

1. Issue 2 - (NEED SOLUTION) If user goes back and then forward they wouldn’t have to “wait” for the timer to count down.  I need to account for them going back and then forward quick and they would get around the time they have to spend on each slide.