• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to create a "fake" software simulation with static images?

Community Beginner ,
Mar 30, 2022 Mar 30, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello community,

I would like to imitate a software simulation experiences for my learners. I do not have access to the software (security purposes), so I will have to imitate a simulation using screenshots. I am aware that I can use click boxes to imitate the success/failure/hint messages, and that I can have the slide advance when they click on the correct area. 

What else can I do to make this more realistic?

I am new to Captivate, and I would appreciate your advice. Thanks!

TOPICS
Advanced actions , Getting started

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Since you are new to Captivate, my recommendation would be to try out the default software simulations, Assessment or Training mode to check out how they are set up. That is possible on any application you have access to. You'll see that click boxes and Text Entry Boxes are used, which can be scored. You can emulate the same workflow with static screenshots. It is possible that you will need to duplicate some screenshots because you need multiple slides with the same background.

Try to avoid any action which needs dragging or moving the mouse. There is often an alternative. It is also possible to add drag&drop actions, but that may be beyond newbie skills. Same for actions which can be done in different ways. I think about using a shortcut key or using a menu approach. 

I don't know what you mean exactly by 'more realistic'?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines