• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Including After Effects animations into Captivate project using bodymovin and external js file

Engaged ,
May 11, 2018 May 11, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm working on trying to find a way to include After Effects animations into my captivate projects using the bodymovin plugin and external javascript files. Before I continue, I'll mention I'm very new to code/javascript libraries/etc. so I may not be correct in everything I say and I apologize. I'd prefer to be able to use after effects animations, because I'm much more familiar with creating motion graphics in AE than using Captivate's clunky effects panel.

With the help of other forum users and after a lot of experimentation - I was able to recreate this awesome codepen setup (Simple Bodymovin Demo​)  with my after effects animation using Dreamweaver and publishing the index.html file to a web server. The animation loads up perfectly.

From there, I tried to figure out how to include a javascript file into my captivate project and found this solution to work well - Load a java script library in captivate

However, my after effects animation is not playing as expected.

My captivate file is setup as such. I have two slides. On the first slide there is a simple shape button and on the second slide there is nothing.

My onEnter action for the first slide is to execute javascript and in the script window I wrote -

function addScript(src){

var s = document.createElement ('script');

s.setAttribute('src', src);

document.body.appendChild(s);

}

addScript('cp.js','bodymovin.js');

Then for the button shape I gave it an action of execute javascript and in it's script window I wrote -

nextSlide();

This is a function I defined in my cp.js file.