• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Slide Video vs Video Demo

New Here ,
Jul 23, 2020 Jul 23, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, I'm new to Captivate and trying to figure out the best workflow for my project.  I'm creating a non-responsive course educating users on a software program.  We have one of our trainers doing an introduction on camera in our studio, then they demonstrate the technique, and then the user will have the opportunity to try it out.  The entire course must be closed captioned.  I've recorded the intros and added them as mp4 files into my Captivate project as Slide Videos.  However, when I try to do video demo, I've found that the editing tools within Captivate are quite limiting.  The demo requires me to add a lot of zooms, pans, graphics, etc.  Is it better for me to record the demos in a software like Camtasia where I have more control over how the presentation looks and then add them as slide videos?  I also like that I have the option to caption in Camtasia and export the captions as an SRT file so I can at least copy and paste the text and timecodes into Captivate.  Video demos seem to be a bit more work in terms of captioning.  Or is it better to do video demos knowing that more videos will increase the size of my project?  There will probably be around 16 videos for this course, but they will be pretty small in size.  Or do I solve the size issue by hosting on Vimeo or YouTube (I believe there are captioning limitations?)  We do not have an LMS as of yet, and these courses would be for clients outside of our company.  I've also tried doing Software Simulation, and while I love the fact that I can record both the demo and the user training at the same time, software simulation also seems to have the same limitations in terms of video editing.  I will be using Software Simulation for the user try it out portion.

Thank you for your help.

TOPICS
Getting started , Recording

Views

Translate

Translate