• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Assigning Variables

Community Beginner ,
Dec 03, 2019 Dec 03, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I apologize ahead of time for what I think is a stupid question.  I am VERY new to Captivate.  I'm reading a lot of articles and watching a lot of videos to teach myself the program.  I"m having difficulty finding an answer...can user created variables be assigned to buttons?  I'm trying to hide the "next" button until certain other buttons are clicked.  The buttons do not have to be clicked in order.  

Thanks.  

TOPICS
Advanced actions , Getting started

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I think you may be misunderstanding how Captivate works.  You do not assign a variable to a button.  You can only assign values to a variable.  You can also display the value of a variable by inserting the variable in the text area of the button, but that will not automatically hide or show the button (as you are wanting to do).

You can hide any Captivate object by selecting it and then in the Properties tab clicking the small eye icon (near the top of the Properties tab) that indicates whether the object is Visible in Output.  If that icon has a diagonal line through it, that means the object will be hidden in the output.

You can then choose to SHOW the object via Conditional Advanced Actions that are executed by events such as the On Slide Enter event.  You would need to set up a Conditional Action that looked at the value of a User Variable to see if it had a specific value, and if so, execute an action to SHOW or HIDE the object.