Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Confusion over Recording and Displaying Keystrokes and Mouse Clicks

Community Beginner ,
Sep 12, 2018 Sep 12, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, all.

My apologies if this question has already been asked. I have searched the Captivate help forum for related posts and have yet to find what I need. I am very new to Captivate (just installed it several hours ago), so my question might sound a bit simplistic.

I'm using Captivate 2017 on Windows 7.

My goal is to create an educational video that teaches the viewer how to build a 3D model. The modelling process (done in a program called "Sketchup Make 2017") is very hotkey-intensive. In order for my video to be effective, I need Captivate to record and show each of my keystrokes (e.g., displaying "ctrl + Q" when I hold the control button down and press the "Q" key) and mouse clicks (i.e., R-click, L-click, and M-click).

I have tried several ways to accomplish this. I tried recording a software simulation, but this did not capture all of my keystrokes, and it did not show different mouse clicks. I tried recording a demo video, but I could not figure out how to make my video display my keystrokes, much less my mouse clicks.

I have searched through forum posts for the past hour, and I have yet to find a solution that a) I can understand, and b) fixes my problem. I'm not looking to do anything fancy - no virtual keyboards, no interactive features, just a simple video with keystrokes and mouse clicks shown as a text overlay. Does anyone have recommendations for how I can do this?

Any advice, including links to other posts, would be much appreciated.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Sep 12, 2018 Sep 12, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied