• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Corrupted Project

New Here ,
Oct 14, 2020 Oct 14, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

At work, I was tasked with converting old .cp files from 2009 to .cptx files so we could re-publish them in HTML5 since Flash is being deprecated.

There were 4 projects needing converting - 2 converted fine but the other 2 somehow lost a lot of content in the conversion - rollovers, buttons, and a ton of regular text. I thought I could just go back to the .cp files and re-convert but somehow the .cp files have the same corruption. The info was all there before the conversion and has been confirmed by a colleague. All I did was open the .cp file in Captivate 6 and re-save as a .cptx. The modified date for the .cp file is still showing as from 2009.

Can anyone tell me where I went wrong and why a simple save-as action made me lose a lot of content? And how I might be able to recover it, if at all?

(I am not a Captivate developer nor do I play one on TV so please be gentle and explicit with any instructions)

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I don't really understand what you mean by corruption? You talk about losing objects, text, but that may be due to use of old AS2 in those files, which is no longer supported since CP5.  That is the first hurdle, not everything in cp files is supported in cptx. So much has changed. Have no idea why text disappeared, but was that static text or was it animated with Text animation which is also SWF-based?

If this is not a very interactive project, you may record the project as video while the SWF-file is playing, and convert the video to an interactive video to add some interactivity and/or Knowledge check slides.

Rollover slidelets are SWF-based, they will never convert.