• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Custom TOC (Non-Linear) Advanced Actions - A better way?

Community Beginner ,
Jul 15, 2020 Jul 15, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I am new to Captivate and have made starting out difficult for myself by creating a custom table of contents with progress indicators that learners can navigate through in a non-linear way.

I have designed a custom show/hide pop out TOC with a series of buttons for navigation to each potential module. I have given each module button a custom Completed state, and am also using the built-in Visted state as part of my AA's.

I want to have the state of the Module button in the TOC change to Completed (Green) when all of the slides in that module have been viewed. Because I want this course to be non-linear, the state of the Module button needs to change to Completed, irrespective of what order the slides are viewed in. For example, someone could start off in Mod 1, skip to Mod 2, then use the back buttons or sub-menu to return to Mod 1slides.

I have managed to set this up, but only by creating a variable for EVERY slide and executing a Conditional Action On Enter that specifies that IF Slide 1 AND Slide 2 AND Slide 3 AND Slide 4...etc. are equal to TRUE, the state of the Module button changes to Completed. This works, but it is extremely tedious to set up, so ideally I am looking for a faster approach. 

Is there a system or user variable I can create to calculate the total number of slides viewed? How is this possible without re-counting a slide that has already been viewed? FYI - I am allowing users to resume from where they left off from my LMS.