Exit

Embed a captivate project in a normal website

New Here ,
May 15, 2019 May 15, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello everyone,

I`m a total beginner with captivate and I`ve got a quite silly question:

How can I publish my captivate project in HTML 5 on a normal website? (Or embed it into my normal website) I don`t have a LMS and I don`t see how to do this without FTP.

Does anyone know? And could explain it step by step?

Thanks a lot!!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You are correct that if you publish your course from Captivate to HTML5, but you don't have an LMS, then you would need to use something like FTP to upload all the published files to a folder on a web server in order to have learners view the content.

With an LMS you publish your HTML5 course content as SCORM zip packages.  All LMSs usually have a way to upload the zip file to the LMS and the LMS then works out where to store and unpack the zip archive.  The LMS will also usually take care of how to display a link so that learners can launch the course modules.

But with a web server things may be different.  Once your content is loaded to a folder on the server, you will need to set up a hyperlink somewhere that allows your students to launch the index.html file at the root level of that folder.  The index.html file is the one that then pulls in all the other files required to display the content in the end user's browser.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thank you!

Just to make sure:

When I don`t have an LMS, I:

1. Publish the project als HTML5