• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Introducing myself, and would like suggestions on creating a portfolio?

Community Beginner ,
Feb 28, 2021 Feb 28, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, I'm fairly new to the world of eLearning and training development. It came about by accident; I was originally a budding web designer when I was offered a position to create online tutorials for field personnel. It was a new position and completely separate from the corporation's training department, so I am self-taught in Captivate as well as Articulate Storyline. 

I held the position for three years, during which I created about 10-15 tutorials targeting a specific team. In addition, the training department "borrowed" me twice to help them for longer term projects that targeted a much wider audience. Thus began my entry into the world of training development. While I had no problem learning the two different softwares, I don't  have any formal education in the training/teaching field. All I know how to do is create WBTs and CBTs based on information given.

My contract ended last week and I'm searching for another role within the training development industry. It's going to be a challenge without any degrees. I also don't have a portfolio, which is why I'm here.

Where do I start? What do I build? Most importantly, without a Captivate or Storyline subscription, how can I showcase what I've done in the past three years? 

I have PS images and some Premiere Pro video work I can include as well. 

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Marie

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Mar 03, 2021 Mar 03, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Marie,