Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Performance of a presentation with many video/audio files

New Here ,
Jan 05, 2019 Jan 05, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have been tasked with creating a presentation of the following size:

• About 40 slides, total playtime about 20 minutes.
  • About 15 videos, durations ranging from 10 seconds to 2 minutes.
  • When video is not playing there will often be an audio file playing (narrating voice).

The presentation will be published on our own webserver. I have very little experience in Captivate och e-learning authoring in general, so I'm wondering if this project might be too ambitious in its usage of media files? Does this presentation risk giving users a degraded experience due to high load times, or delays?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

For the audio clips, leave a small gap before and after its timeline:

AudioGap.png

As for the videos, you don't mention how you did insert thme: event video or slide video?  You can distribute videos over multiple slides. You can convert them to Interactive video as well. The last possibility is only available in CP2019. Distibuting over multiple slides reduces the amount to be loaded on each slide. You can also stream video instead of embedding the video clips.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Jan 07, 2019 Jan 07, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

For what purpose do I want to leave timeline-gaps for audiofiles?