Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Returning to Captivate after 2 years

New Here ,
Jun 29, 2018 Jun 29, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all

I am returning to the forum having had a break of 2 years or so. I am a teacher of Economics and Business Studies and I am looking at using Captivate to develop some flexible learning interactions. These interactions will be from full blown courses which would generally use a blended learning approach. There will be Instruction (text, audio and video) and tests/quizzes which will analyse responses and give advice for further learning etc.

I wish to produce executables for windows and mac laptops which will run as standalone packages. I will bundle combinations of quizzes and topics for particular students / courses.

I do believe that this will be stretching Captivate although I am just looking at Captivate 2017 and this might be a breeze for the current version.

I will use web server/LMS (HTML 5? and all that).  if necessary but I really wish to avoid this complexity if possible. I have some expertise in Filemaker and I am also looking at producing small executables there.

I have a couple of initial issues that I am looking at and I wonder if any forum members might lend me some brief advice.......

Issue 1 : Can I save all variables locally to a text file or similar or even within the Captivate executable so that when started again the executable woul dreset to current progress level.

Issue 2: Can I load variables in bulk at the start of the module/unit/quiz to make the thing flexible. I am look at multi state objects to store a single quiz, unit or module etc so that if need be I can create some standard objects which create variables etc when they load/are accessed. I have a feeling I may be able to do this with Javascript/Actionscript. I have lot's of experience with Flash and actionscript and also some javascript but I believe I need to work with browser and server to use either.