• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Share undocumented features and constraints

Explorer ,
Dec 16, 2020 Dec 16, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have not seen a thread yet, so I am starting this one. I've been working in Captivate for 6 months, and these are a few things I found:

Object selection

1. The Tab key allows you to toggle select every visible object on the timeline.
    I discovered this when I accidentally hit the Tab key. Just make sure that your cursor isn't in a text field. It will not, however, allow you to select hidden items. It will toggle selection starting from the topmost object on the timeline to the bottommost. Want to go in the opposite direction? Hold down Shift as you Tab through objects. To edit the contents, click the F2 key.

Bonus:
    This also works for objects in groups! So if you have a large grouping and you want to quickly change something without having to select it from the timeline, this will help immensely. Again, to edit the contents, click the F2 key. This allows you to access buried items that are fully covered by other objects.

That’s all for now. Please share!

Undocumented Constraints

1. Smart Objects with text can have a maximum margin of 100 on any side.

1. Text maximum size is limited to vertical height of project.

2. Project maximum size is limited to 3200 x 3200 pixels.

3. Synchronized video maximum size is limited to 999 seconds. (This is odd, because the reference manual states on p. 64 that the maximum slide duration is one hour =3600 seconds. Then p. 117 states that maximum slide duration is 999 seconds. Anyone with better information, please share!)

4. Minimum duration of a portion of video on a slide (per Synchronized video) is 3 seconds. This duration is necessary to ensure that at least a couple of keyframes are assigned per slide.