Highlighted

skipping knowledge checks vs regular slides

Contributor ,
Aug 27, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am running into something weird.

I am creating a lesson where the user will select the group to which they belong, one of ten groups. This will set a variable with a value of the group id.

I have some slides and some knowledge-checks that unique to each group.

I have some advanced actions running on enter  that checks the group of the user, if the slide is not meant for the user's group, captivate is issued the command to go to the next slide.

When going through regular content slides, when a user comes to a section of slide not meant for them, the content area is blank for a fraction of a second and you can see the playbar advancing rapidly through those slides. Once the user hits a slide they are supposed to see, content shows up and everything works great, as expected.

BUT once I add in knowledge-check slides things go wonky.

The scripts and navigation still work fine, a user will rapidly progress through the slides until they reach a slide they are supposed to see. What is different it that the users get a quick flash (one frame?) of of each of the knowledge-check slide contents as they are moving rapidly through the slides they are supposed to skip.

Has anyone experienced this and come up with a solution?

I have tried to add some javascript to change the CSS to hide they question elements, but my CSS changes seem to get overridden by the Captivate player.

Thanks!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

skipping knowledge checks vs regular slides

Contributor ,
Aug 27, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am running into something weird.

I am creating a lesson where the user will select the group to which they belong, one of ten groups. This will set a variable with a value of the group id.